You Against the World

“I need a vacation.”  Heard that one before, right?  But what I really needed was a detoxification from work, people, and life situations.  I kept asking myself, When do I get to breathe? When do I get to do what I want? When will someone finally notice and appreciate my efforts?  Then it hit me:  When?  Now. frog-897419_960_720

It was simple and I needed to remember what I needed.  I take a breather when I want…not when someone says so.  I get to do what I want when I make time for it and not when someone says I can.  And I don’t need validation and appreciation for my efforts from someone else…when I pre-approved it.  The lack of sleep and constant busy nothings was getting to me.  I needed to take some time off from everything and everyone.

So, I shut off all communication from the outside world, refused to check emails, voicemails, and social media…and I couldn’t have made a better choice.  Sometimes…some days…it just needs to be you against the world.  Did I feel bad about not answering their calls, responding to emails, or not being available?  (Insert laughter here.)

I had forgotten the answer to one question:  You know what happens when you stop helping those who expect it from you?  They eventually figure it out themselves.  I can’t help everyone who asks for it…and I’m not required to.  First, I have to help myself…and need my sanity to do it.

Related articles:

Helping the Abled

Learning to Say No

Let Adults Be Adults

Leave a Reply

